Children on the Border is an important issue and should remain an important issue for a long long long time…

If we think that trauma leaves no traces… think again… this is my husband’s account of how his younger brother was treated by INS officials back in 1982 and he kept it hidden until yesterday… ‘Yesterday for the first time since the last day of April 1982 my brother described to me how he was treated by an immigration officer. When they stopped the truck (after crossing the border, two days after heading to LA) they came and took us to the office to take down our personal information, I noticed that my brother was not in the office with others. After a while I saw him enter coming from outside the building and noticed that he seemed strange, I remember asking him what had happened and he said nothing … until yesterday … my brother was not more than 15 years old … he described to me how he was beaten, he said: “It was the first time I was beaten as a man and the first time I spat blood from my mouth, Listen, Hugo , the hijodeputa closed his fist and without warning punched me in the stomach several times …” he said. ,” He wanted me to tell him who was the coyote … No one saw this, of course because the agent took him behind the building to beat him. …
My brother suffered a lot, and I never before understood his abhorrence of living here in the USA. This episode is what planted the seed for so much hate and pain. I felt very awful hearing this confession and feel the same or even greater hatred towards the officer as I believe it has contributed to the overwhelmed and difficult life that my brother has lived.
Hopefully arriving newly arriving immigrants and those yet to arrive have better luck with immigration officers who take the law and their powers to abuse when the only crime on many occasions is to seek better lives for themselves and their children … It’s important recognize that we remember all those who have come to this country as illegal or not, they are our brothers and sisters and they need us to ensure that they are treated with respect and dignity…’
Ayer por primera vez desde el ultimo día de abril de 1982 mi hermano me describió como el oficial de inmigración lo había tratado. Cuando detuvieron la troca (después de cruzar la frontera, dos días después con rumbo a LA) donde veníamos y nos llevaron a las oficinas para tomar los datos de cada uno de nosotros yo note que mi hermano no se encontraba en la oficina con los demás. Después de un rato lo vi entrar viniendo de afuera del edificio y lo note un poco raro, me acuerdo de haberle preguntado que que le había pasado y me dijo que nada… hasta ayer… mi hermano no tenia mas de 15 años… me describió como lo habían golpeado, me dijo: “fue la primera vez que me pegaron como hombre y la primera vez que escupí sangre de la boca, mira hugo, el hijodeputa cerro el puño y sin avisar me golpeo en el estomago varias veces…” me dijo, “él quería que yo le dijera quien era el coyote…” Nadie vio esto por supuesto por que el agente de inmigración se lo llevo detrás del edificio para golpearlo… Mi hermano a sufrido mucho, y nunca había entendido por que, ó el aborrecimiento de vivir acá en los EU. Este episodio creo que fue la semilla que le plantaron para tanto odio y dolor. Yo me sentí muy mal al oír la declaración y siento igual o mucho mas aborrecimiento para con dicho oficial ya que creo, ha sido parte importante en la vida agobiada que a vivido mi hermano. Ojala que los inmigrantes que lleguen y que están por llegar tengan mejor suerte con semejantes oficiales que toman el poder y la ley para lincharlos cuando el único delito en muchísimas ocaciones es el de buscar una vida mejor para ellos y sus hijos… Es importante que nos acordemos de reconocer a todos los que han llegado a este país como ilegales o no, que son nuestro hermanos y que necesitan que velemos por que se les trate con respeto y con dignidad…
Leave a Reply

